Eight from ECC Named to DIICCA Women's Soccer All-Region Team

Eight from ECC Named to DIICCA Women's Soccer All-Region Team

Bridgeport, Conn. - Eight women's soccer standouts from the East Coast Conference have earned a spot on the Division II Conference Commissioners Association All-East Region team. Seven of the eight are First Team selections.

Winners of the three of the four ECC All-Conference major awards were First Team selections with Offensive Player of the Year, Bella Mitrevski of Roberts Wesleyan, Rookie of the Year, Jess Laszlo of Bridgeport, and Goalkeeper of the Year, Jennifer Wendelius of Bridgeport all earning spots.

Mitrevski tallied 18 goals and added nine assists to finish with 45 points to lead Roberts Wesleyan to the ECC and NCAA Tournaments for the first time in program history.

Laszlo and Wendelius have helped Bridgeport to an ECC title, the first East Region title in program history, and a spot in the NCAA Final Four. Laszlo has tallied an ECC-high 22 goals and 50 points to date, while Wendelius has allowed only seven goals and leads the ECC with a 0.37 goals against average and an .881 save percentage.

Other First Team selections include Susanne Vistnes and Kristin Brandman of LIU Post and Flo Gamby and Julia Weidenmark of Bridgeport.

The lone Second Team honoree is the ECC Defensive Player of the Year, Nicola Worthington of Bridgeport.

2015 Division II Conference Commissioners Association All-East Region Team
First Team
F: Laura Gomez, Jr., Adelphi
F: Lizzy Kroon, So., Georgian Court  
F: Jess Laszlo, Fr., Bridgeport
F: Susanne Vistnes, Sr., LIU Post
M: Victoria Antonino, Jr., Adelphi
M: Bella Mitrevski, Jr., Roberts Wesleyan
M: Flo Gamby, Jr., Bridgeport
M: Paige Radomski, Sr., Assumption
D: Kristin Brandman, Jr., LIU Post
D: Taylor Groth, Sr., Adelphi,
D: Taylor Salmon, Sr., Adelphi
D: Julia Weidenmark, Jr., Bridgeport
GK: Jennifer Wendelius, Fr., Bridgeport

Second Team

F: Morgan Burchhardt, So., St. Rose
F: Marisa Garcia, Sr., New Haven
F: Jenna Savi, Sr., Merrimack
F: Loran Wyrough, So., Wilmington
M: Carla Chmielewski, Sr., Philadelphia U.
M: Amy Runciman, So., Goldey Beacom
M: Amanda Vasquez, Sr., St. Rose
M: Nicola Worthington, Jr., Bridgeport
D: Romina Bell, Sr., American International
D: Misty Kaiwi, Sr., Post-Senior
D: Morgan LaDuca, So., Georgian Court
D: Olivia Parsons, Jr., Southern New Hampshire
GK: Casey O’Connor, Sr., Georgian Court

2015 East Region Player of the Year: Laura Gomez, Adelphi