Vistnes, Rauschenberger, and Hansson Headline ECC Women’s Soccer All-Conference Awards

Vistnes, Rauschenberger, and Hansson Headline ECC Women’s Soccer All-Conference Awards

Central Islip, N.Y. – Sophomore Susanne Vistnes (Randaberg, Norway) from LIU Post has been selected the East Coast Conference Women's Soccer Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight season, as voted on by the league's coaches.  Bridgeport freshman back Tabea Rauschenberger (Mühlacker, Germany) has been tabbed both the Defensive Player and Rookie of the Year and teammate Julia Hansson (Tocksfors, Sweden) garners Goalkeeper of the Year honors. Mercy head coach, Jonathan Feinstein, was named the Coach of the Year by his peers.

Vistnes followed up her fantastic freshman campaign with another stellar showing in her sophomore season. Vistnes once again paced the ECC with 14 goals, 34 points, and seven game-winning goals. She also ranked fourth in the conference by dishing out four assists on the season. Vistnes has been one of the most prolific scorers in Division II as well. Currently she ranks in the top 15 in the nation in points per game (2.0), goals per game (0.824), points, and goals.

Rauschenberger shined in her debut for the Purple Knights, leading a back line that allowed only 10 goals all season. Her play helped Bridgeport rank 20th in Division II with a .588 shutout percentage and second in the ECC with a 0.65 goals against average. In addition to her defensive prowess, Rauschenberger tallied four goals, six assists, and 14 points to help her capture the Rookie of the Year award as well.

Hansson wins the second Goalkeeper of the Year honor of her career, after also winning in the 2011 season. The senior compiled a 15-2-0 record in front of the net for the Purple Knights and finished near the top of the league’s leader board in numerous statistical categories. Hansson ranked second in the ECC in goals against (10) and goals against average (0.61), third with eight shutouts, and fifth with a .815 save percentage.

Feinstein was named the Coach of the Year by leading the Mavericks to a 12-3-1 record and the No. 2 seed in the ECC Championship tournament. Mercy hit numerous milestones under Feinstein’s tutelage including the first-ever winning record and ECC Championship berth in program history.

Vistnes, Rauschenberger, and Hansson are joined on the All-Conference First Team by: Jessica Carrillo (F, Mercy), Danielle Puddefoot (F, Bridgeport), Jeanine Ambrogi (M, LIU Post), Flo Gamby (M, Bridgeport), Nicola Worthington (M, Bridgeport), Abby Zielinksi (M, Mercy), Crystal Mena (B, Mercy), and Karina Rizzo (B, LIU Post).

Second Team recipients include forwards: Amanda Moura (Bridgeport), Alexa Niciforo (LIU Post), Ellie Swan (Roberts Wesleyan), Lindsey Thompson (Dowling); midfielders: Julia Backman (LIU Post), Rebecca LaPorte (Queens), Bella Mitrevski (Roberts Wesleyan), Jennifer Vega (Mercy) backs: Ashleigh Berg (Bridgeport), Dominique DeFelice (Dowling), Lauren Mengel (Bridgeport), along with goalkeeper Mersina Onesto (Queens).

2013 ECC Women's Soccer All-Conference
First Team
F - Jessica Carrillo, Mercy
F - Danielle Puddefoot, Bridgeport
F - Susanne Vistnes, LIU Post
M - Jeanine Ambrogi, LIU Post
M - Flo Gamby, Bridgeport
M - Nicola Worthington, Bridgeport
M - Abby Zielinski, Mercy
B - Crystal Mena, Mercy
B - Tabea Rauschenberger, Bridgeport
B - Karina Rizzo, LIU Post
GK - Julia Hansson, Bridgeport

Second Team
F - Amanda Moura, Bridgeport
F - Alexa Niciforo, LIU Post
F - Ellie Swan,  Roberts Wesleyan
F - Lindsey Thompson, Dowling
M - Julia Backman, LIU Post
M - Rebecca LaPorte, Queens
M - Bella Mitrevski, Roberts Wesleyan
M - Jennifer Vega, Mercy
B - Ashleigh Berg, Bridgeport
B - Dominique DeFelice, Dowling
B - Lauren Mengel, Bridgeport
GK - Mersina Onesto, Queens

Offensive Player of the Year: Susanne Vistnes, So., F, LIU Post
Defensive Player and Rookie of the Year: Tabea Rauschenberger, Fr., B,  Bridgeport
Goalkeeper of the Year: Julia Hansson, Sr., GK, Bridgeport
Coach of the Year: Jonathan Feinstein, Mercy