Wilson, Isnardi, Ardito, Duchnowski, and Grzelaczyk Take Home Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Top Honors

Wilson, Isnardi, Ardito, Duchnowski, and Grzelaczyk Take Home Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Top Honors

West Babylon, N.Y. - The 2019 East Coast Conference Women's Lacrosse All-Conference teams were announced this morning. The conference's major awards were claimed by Brianna Wilson (Levittown, N.Y.) of Molloy, Hunter Isnardi (Hicksville, N.Y.) of Mercy, Hailey Duchnowski (Miller Place, N.Y.) of LIU Post, and Anne Marie Ardito (Manhasset, N.Y.) and Jaclyn Grzelaczyk (Seaford, N.Y.) of NYIT. 

Now a four-time All-Conference honoree, Wilson earns the first major award of her career with her selection as the Attacker of the Year. The senior was one of the top offensive players in not just the ECC, but all of Division II. She finished up the regular season with 61 goals and 51 assists for 112 points. Her point total led the ECC and came in at fourth in all of Division II. She also ranked second in the country with 6.59 points per game and added another top-10 finish, coming in at No. 9 with her 51 assists. Wilson was also a standout on draws, coming in second in the league with 100 draw controls on the year.

Isnardi makes it four straight years with one of the ECC's major awards after being named the Midfielder of the Year. This is the second straight year she won this honor after winning the Offensive Player of the Year in 2017 and Rookie of the Year in 2016.  Isnardi scored 82 goals on the year to pace the ECC and rank fifth in Division II. She continued to be one of the best in the country at controlling draws, as well. She led the ECC with 160 on the season, 60 more than runner-up Wilson.  That total is also good for 9.41 draw controls per game, good for third in the nation. In addition, Isnardi capped off another great season when reached a milestone in the semifinals of the ECC Championship. With her seventh goal of the day, she reached 300 career goals to break the Division II record for goals in a career.

Ardito was named the Defender of the Year after helping anchor a Bears defense that ranked eighth nationally by allowing just 7.18 goals per game. Individually, she ranked third in the ECC with 30 caused turnovers and fifth with 44 ground balls. Ardito also ranked in the top-five in the ECC with 78 draw controls on the season.

For the fourth year in a row, an LIU Post cage minder earns the ECC Goalkeeper of the Year honor, with Duchnowski getting the nod from the league's coaches. A four-time ECC Defensive Player of the Week, Duchnowski excelled during her debut season with a 14-3 record. Duchnowski posted 158 saves and a 9.32 goals against average, which ranked 16th in Division II. Her save percentage was also among the national leaders, coming in at No. 8 at 52.5 percent.  

Grzelaczyk takes home the league's Rookie of the Year honor. She was the league's highest-scoring rookie, finishing with 76 points on 31 goals and 45 assists during the regular season. The four-time Rookie of the Week finished sixth in the league in points and third in assists.

Kerri Handras, head coach of NYIT, rounds out the major awards by being named the Coach of the Year. Handras helped guide the Bears to a 7-1 record in ECC play (13-4 overall) to earn a share of the program's first-ever ECC Regular Season Championship.   

2019 ECC Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference Team
First Team
A - Angela Deren, LIU Post
A - Shannon Donovan, NYIT
A - Brianna Feldman, LIU Post
A - Jaclyn Grzelaczyk, NYIT
A - Katherine Sanchez, Mercy
A - Brianna Wilson, Molloy
M - Brooke Basso, NYIT
M - Hunter Isnardi, Mercy
M - Alyssa Mallery, LIU Post
M - Paige Sherlock, LIU Post
M - Emily Tomei, Roberts Wesleyan
D - Anne Marie Ardito, NYIT
D - Micayla Brady, Mercy
D - Ashley Claud, NYIT
D - Kaitlyn Meyer, Molloy
GK - Hailey Duchnowski, LIU Post

Second Team
A - Trish Brisotti, LIU Post
A - Briana Corace, Mercy
A - Courtney Forry, Bridgeport
A - Emily Knight, Roberts Wesleyan
M - Casie Caiazza, Molloy
M - Sara Giammarella, NYIT
M - Jessica Giancursio, Roberts Wesleyan
M - Casey Shimborske, Mercy
D - Emily Bauer, Molloy
D - Grace Guglielmo, NYIT
D - Tiffany Melendez, Roberts Wesleyan
D - Carly Spano, LIU Post
D - Senna Tadfie, Mercy
D - Maddie Titus, LIU Post
GK - Cheyanne Gangel, Bridgeport
GK - Ashley Miller, NYIT

Attacker of the Year: Brianna Wilson, Sr., Molloy
Midfielder of the Year: Hunter Isnardi, Sr., Mercy
Defender of the Year: Anne Marie Ardito, Gr., NYIT
Goalkeeper of the Year: Hailey Duchnowski, Fr., LIU Post
Rookie of the Year: Jaclyn Grzelaczyk, NYIT
Coach of the Year: Kerri Handras, NYIT