Mercy Selected for First-Ever NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship

Mercy Selected for First-Ever NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship

Indianapolis - The NCAA announced its selections to the Division II Men's Lacrosse Championship on Sunday evening with East Coast Conference Men's Lacrosse Champion, Mercy College, among the teams selected to compete for a National Championship.

The Mavericks earn their first-ever NCAA Championship bid after finishing with a 17-1 record and claiming their first-ever ECC title this season. Mercy earned the No. 4 seed in the North Region bracket and will host No. 5 Seton Hill () on Wednesday, May 8 in a First Round matchup.

Mercy holds a 1-5 record all-time against Seton Hill.  The Griffins were members of the ECC from 2010-2012 and won two of the three matchups over the Mavericks during the three-year stretch. The two schools also played each year from 2015-2017 with Seton Hill emerging victorious each time.

The winner of the Mercy vs. Seton Hill matchup will advance to the quarterfinals on May 11 against No. 1 seed Le Moyne on their Syracuse, N.Y. campus. Le Moyne visited Mercy for an early season February contest and the Mavericks came away with the victory by a 10-7 margin.

No. 3 Mercyhurst hosts No. 6 Merrimack with the winner moving on to take on No. 2 Adelphi in the other half of the North Region bracket.

Teams in the South Region bracket are No. 1 Limestone, No. 2 Belmont Abbey, No. 3 Indianapolis, No. 4 Tampa, No. 5 Wingate, and No. 6 Queens (N.C.).

The winners of the two regions will face off in the National Championship game on Sunday, May 26 at Lincoln Financial Field, home of the NFL's Philadelphia Eagles.

To view the full NCAA Division II Men's Lacrosse Championship bracket, click here.