AVCA Names Eight ECC Standouts to All-Region List

AVCA Names Eight ECC Standouts to All-Region List

Lexington, Ky. - Eight volleyball student-athletes from the East Coast Conference have been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association NCAA Division II All-East Region team. Five earned All-Region status while three were named to the Honorable Mention list.

Bridgeport had three standouts named to the All-East Region squad to tie New Haven for the most selections. ECC Player of the Year, Biljana Savic, is joined by teammates Larissa Oliveira and Sarah Rosa. Oliveira and Savic wrapped up their outstanding careers with their fourth consecutive All-Region selections. Rosa is also a multiple-time honoree, earning the All-Region nod for the second straight year. A fourth Purple Knight, Ying Shen, was also named to the Honorable Mention list.

Dowling was well represented with two players, Jessica Kalbfleisch and ECC Libero of the Year, Kayla Morgan. This is the first AVCA All-Region selection for both student-athletes. Dowling's Katarzyna Klocek was also listed on the Honorable Mention list.

Rounding out the ECC representation on the All-Region list, was NYIT's Kate Brock, who was also listed among the Honorable Mention honorees.

2014 AVCA All-East Region Team

Name School Position     Year
Kaulana Ane** New Haven S Sr.
Kristy Atufunwa New Haven     MB Sr.
Katy Daniels Saint Rose L Sr.
Kaitlyn DeStefano***     Adelphi MB Sr.
Maryellen Devic Saint Rose OH So.
Skylar German Post MB So.
Emily Iverson** Stonehill S Sr.
Jessica Kalbfleisch Dowling OH Jr.
Kristen Lee** New Haven OH Jr.
Kayla Morgan Dowling L Jr.
Larissa Oliveira**** Bridgeport MB Sr.
Delia Phillips** Stonehill OH Jr.
Sarah Rosa** Bridgeport OH Jr.
Biljana Savic**** Bridgeport S/OH Gr.

Region Freshman of the Year: Marisa Coronis, Southern New Hampshire, MB
Region Coach of the Year: Robin Salters, New Haven
Honorable Mention: Jaci Buscher (Bentley, Jr., OH); Kate Brock (NYIT, Jr., MB); Jaclyn Del Cid (Caldwell, Sr., L); Katarzyna Klocek (Dowling, So., RS); Ying Shen (Bridgeport, Sr., OH); Catie Swiderski (Franklin Pierce, Sr., OH)