Four ECC Volleyball Squads Head to NCAA Tournament

Four ECC Volleyball Squads Head to NCAA Tournament

Indianapolis, Ind. – For the second consecutive year, East Coast Conference members will take up half the field at the NCAA Division II Volleyball East Regional. The bracket announced Monday night included Bridgeport, Dowling, LIU Post, and NYIT among the 64 teams that will compete for a National Championship.

Bridgeport (21-2), who won the ECC Championship for the second straight season to take the conference’s automatic bid into the tournament, is the top seed and will host the eight-team East Regional. This marks the sixth straight appearance in the tournament for the Purple Knights and the first time that they will host. Bridgeport will take on No. 8 seed and Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference champion, Georgian Court (20-12) in the first round.

Next up at No. 2 is LIU Post (22-9). The Pioneers make the field for the second consecutive season and the third time in the past four seasons. They will match-up against No. 7 seed, Franklin Pierce (14-8). The two schools have met once previously this season with LIU Post coming out victorious in three sets on October 11.

ECC runner-up, NYIT (26-6), is the No. 3 seed. The Bears are making their third straight NCAA appearance and the ninth in program history. They will face off against a familiar foe in the First Round, with the No. 6 seed going to conference rival, Dowling (19-13). The Golden Lions advance to the NCAA Tournament for the 12th straight season with an at-large bid. NYIT won the two previous match-ups between the schools this season, winning 3-1 at Dowling on October 17 and sweeping, 3-0, at home on November 14.

The other two teams in the field are Northeast 10 Champion and No. 4 seeded New Haven and the No. 5 seed, Adelphi, also of the Northeast 10.

Tournament play will begin on Thursday, December 5 and will continue until the East Region Final on December 7. The winner will then advance to the Elite Eight that begins on December 12 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

To see the full bracket, click here.