ECC Schools Make Up Half the Field at NCAA Volleyball East Regional

ECC Schools Make Up Half the Field at NCAA Volleyball East Regional

Indianapolis – The bracket for the 2012 NCAA Division II Volleyball Championship was announced late Sunday night and four East Coast Conference schools were selected for the East Regional. Bridgeport, Dowling, LIU Post, and NYIT are now among 64 teams that will compete for a national championship.

Bridgeport, who won the ECC Championship to win the conference’s automatic bid into the tournament, is the highest seeded team from the ECC at No. 2. This marks the fifth straight appearance in the tournament for the Purple Knights. They will take on a familiar foe in No. 7 seeded Dowling.

The Golden Lions earned the final at-large bid after posting a 20-14 record and have now made 11 consecutive trips to the NCAA Tournament. Their matchup with Bridgeport will also be the fifth straight year the two schools have met in the East Regional. Dowling holds a 3-1 edge in the NCAA matchups, but this season Bridgeport has won all three of the matchups against their rival including a semifinal victory in the recently concluded ECC Championship.

NYIT, the No. 4 seed, makes their second straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament and eighth in program history. The Bears will take on the No. 5 seeded Ravens of Franklin Pierce who will be making their first NCAA appearance in program history. The two schools have already met this season, with NYIT taking a 3-1 victory on October 6.

LIU Post is the final ECC school in the bracket after earning the No. 6 seed. This is the Pioneers second appearance in the NCAA field in three years. They will also be playing a familiar foe in former ECC rival, Adelphi. The Panthers were also LIU Post’s opponent the last time the Pioneers were in the field in 2010. Adelphi took a five set victory in the matchup and have also beaten LIU Post twice already this season. Those matchups both came in September with Adelphi winning by identical 3-0 scores.

The other two teams in the field are CACC Champion and No. 8 seed Dominican and the top seeded and host institution, University of New Haven.

Tournament play will begin on Thursday, November 29 and will continue until the East Region Final on December 1. The winner will then advance to the Elite Eight that begins on December 6 in Pensacola, Florida.

To see the full bracket, click here.