Shepard, Mutranowski, and Concannon Headline Volleyball All-Conference Awards

Shepard, Mutranowski, and Concannon Headline Volleyball All-Conference Awards

Central Islip, N.Y. – Bethany Shepard (Lakewood, Colo.) from Dowling College, has been selected the 2012 ECC Volleyball Player of the Year, as voted on by the league’s coaches. Shepard’s teammate Morgan Mutranowski (Muskego, Wis.) was also honored, earning the ECC Libero of the Year award. Roberts Wesleyan freshman setter Maggie Concannon (Lancaster, N.Y.) rounds out the top award winners, garnering Rookie of the Year honors.  

Shepard, a four-time All-Conference selection, wraps up her career at Dowling with the Player of the Year award. The outside hitter ranked first in the conference in kills with 554 and 4.47 kills per set.  Her .282 hitting percentage also was near the ECC leader board, ranking sixth.  Shepard also compiled 310 digs, 39 total blocks, and tallied 17 double-doubles.  

Mutranowski anchored the Dowling defense this season, finishing among the conference leaders with 433 digs.  She scooped up double-digit digs on 22 occasions, including two matches where she tallied over 30 digs.  

Concannon had a standout freshman year, leading Roberts Wesleyan and the ECC with 1,004 assists.  She also led the conference with 9.56 assists per set. A two-time recipient of the ECC Rookie of the Week honor, Concannon also contributed with 201 digs and 24 services aces on the season.   

Jon and Kirsten Meyers, co-head coaches at Roberts Wesleyan, have been selected as Coaches of the Year, as voted on by their peers. In the Redhawks first season as members of the ECC, the Meyers guided their team to a 17-10 regular season finish and an 11-5 mark in ECC play to finish third in the conference.

Shepeard was also an All-Conference First Team selection. Joining her on the First Team is Shelby Cable (Jr., OH, NYIT), Savanna Donarski (Jr., OH, NYIT), Biljana Savic (So., OH, Bridgeport), Ying Shen (So., OH, Bridgeport) and Jordan Wislon (So., MB, Roberts Wesleyan).

The All-Conference Second Team recipients include: Lisa Delfs (Sr., MB, LIU Post), Kendall Havener (So., MB, Roberts Wesleyan), Marija Jovanovic (Jr., S, NYIT), Makamae Namahoe (Jr., OH, LIU Post), Larissa Oliveira (So., MB, Bridgeport) and Katarina Sretenovic (Jr., RS, NYIT).

2012 ECC Volleyball All-Conference Teams
First Team
Shelby Cable - Jr., OH, NYIT
Savannah Donarski - Jr., OH, NYIT
Biljana Savic - So., OH, Bridgeport
Ying Shen - So., OH, Bridgeport
Bethany Shepard - Sr., OH, Dowling
Jordan Wilson – So., MB, Roberts Wesleyan

Second Team
Lisa Delfs – Sr., MB, LIU Post
Kendall Havener – So., MB, Roberts Wesleyan
Marija Jovanovic – Jr., S, NYIT
Makamae Namahoe - Jr., OH, C.W. Post
Larissa Oliveira – So., MB, Bridgeport
Katarina Sretenovic – Jr., RS, NYIT

Player of the Year: Bethany Shepard, Sr., OH, Dowling
Libero of the Year: Morgan Mutranowski, Sr., Dowling
Rookie of the Year: Maggie Concannon, Fr., S, Roberts Wesleyan
Coaches of the Year: Jon and Kirsten Meyers, Roberts Wesleyan