Cable Named AVCA East Region Freshman of the Year

Cable Named AVCA East Region Freshman of the Year

Lexington, KY.  - Shelby Cable of the New York Institute of Technology has been named the 2010 American Volleyball Coaches Association East Region Freshman of the Year. Cable is also one of eight East Coast Conference volleyball student-athletes to be named to the AVCA All-Region squad.

Cable, the 2010 ECC Rookie of the Year, had an outstanding first season for the Bears, leading the squad with 353 kills. She also finished fifth in the conference by sending home 3.24 kills per set.

ECC and NCAA East Region Champion, Dowling College, ties for the most representation by an institution on the All-Region team. Patrycja Klekotka, Monika Kasperek-Szulc, and Maja Potpara all earned a spot on the team for the Golden Lions.

ECC runner-up Bridgeport also placed three on the team with Agatha Baliddawa-Mukisa, Tamara Leite, and Terry Masava all making the list.

ECC Libero of the Year, Lisa Peacock of NYIT rounds out the ECC representation on the All-Region team.

Others from the ECC that were named honorable mention include Damla Albayrak (NYIT) and Bethany Shepard (Dowling).

2010 AVCA All- East Region
Chelsey Alpough** University of New Haven, S, Jr.
Agatha Baliddawa-Mukisa** University of Bridgeport, MB, Sr.
Shelby Cable New York Inst. of Technology, OH, Fr.
Molly Cindric** Merrimack College, OH, Sr.
Monika Kasperek*** Dowling College, MB, Sr.
Patrycja Klekotka**** Dowling College, RS/Opp., Sr.
Tamara Leite University of Bridgeport, S, Jr.
Sara Malmlov** University of New Haven, OH, Sr.
Terry Masava** University of Bridgeport, OH, Sr.
Heather Mau** Adelphi University, S, Sr.
Hilary Pavels** Adelphi University, OH, Sr.
Lisa Peacock New York Inst. of Technology, DS/Lib., Jr.
Alyssa Pickert Merrimack College, DS/Lib., Sr.
Maja Potpara*** Dowling College, RS/S, Jr.

Region Freshman of the Year: Shelby Cable, New York Inst. of Technology, OH

Honorable Mention: Damla Albayrak (New York Tech, S, Jr.), Sarah Coscia
(UMass-Lowell, MB, Sr.), Shea Hansen (Pace, S, Jr.), Heather Ladao (New
Haven, DS/Lib., Jr.), Victoria Pompilus (Pace, MB, Sr.), Bethany Shepard
(Dowling, OH, So.)

* Denotes total number of years selected to AVCA All-Region Team