Potpara, Peacock and Cable Headline Volleyball All-Conference Awards

Potpara, Peacock and Cable Headline Volleyball All-Conference Awards

Central Islip, N.Y. - Maja Potpara (Pljevlja, Montenegro), a junior setter and right side from Dowling College, has been selected the 2010 ECC Volleyball Player of the Year. This marks the third consecutive season that Potpara has received the conference’s top honor. NYIT sophomore Lisa Peacock (Lindenhurst, N.Y.), was also a repeat winner, taking home Libero of the Year for the second straight year. NYIT’s freshman outside hitter Shelby Cable (Lakewood, Calif.) rounds out the top award winners, garnering Rookie of the Year honors.  

Potpara, a three-time ECC Player of the Year, had another outstanding all-around season in 2010. The junior ranks second in the conference in service aces per game (.61), fifth in assists per game (7.34). She also compiled 191 kills with a .389 hitting percentage, to rank her among the top five in the conference.  This season, Potpara tallied six triple-doubles and also notched nine double-doubles.

Peacock anchored the NYIT defense this season, averaging a conference best 4.69 digs per game.  She scooped up double-digit digs on 26 occasions, including four matches where she tallied 25 or more.  Additionally, Peacock was a threat from the service line as she finished the regular season with 40 aces.

Cable had a standout freshman year, leading the Bears with 364 kills.  She ranked sixth in the conference in kills per game, at 3.26, as well as tenth in digs per game with 2.97.  A seven time ECC Rookie of the Week, Cable also posted 13 double doubles on the season.   

Gail Wasmus of NYIT has been selected as Coach of the Year, as voted on by her peers.  Wasmus guided her team to a 20-11 regular season finish and the No. 3 seed in the ECC tournament with an 8-4 mark in conference play.

Potpara is joined by teammates Monika Kasperek-Szulc (Sr., MB) and Patrycja Klekotka (Gr., OH) as well as NYIT’s Cable and Bridgeport’s Agatha Baliddawa-Mukisa (Gr., OH) and Terry Masava (Jr., OH)on the All-Conference First Team.

The All-Conference Second Team recipients include: Damla Albayrak (Jr., S, NYIT), Marilena Guadignini (Sr., OH, C.W. Post), Ivana Kovacevic-Jurasin (Sr., OH, Bridgeport), Makamae Namahoe (Fr., MB, C.W. Post), Angelica Nicalek (Jr., OH, Molloy), and Bethany Shepard (So., OH, Dowling).

2010 ECC Volleyball All-Conference Teams
First Team
Agatha Baliddawa-Mukisa - Gr., OH, Bridgeport
Shelby Cable - Fr., OH, NYIT
Monika Kasperek - Sr., MB, Dowling
Patrycja Klekotka - Gr., OH, Dowling
Terry Masava - Sr., OH, Bridgeport
Maja Potpara - Jr., RS/S, Dowling

Second Team
Damla Albayrak -  Jr., S, NYIT
Marilena Guadignini -  Sr., OH, C.W. Post
Ivana Kovacevic-Jurasin -  Sr., OH, Bridgeport
Makamae Namahoe - Fr., MB, C.W. Post
Angelica Nicalek - Jr., OH, Molloy
Bethany Shepard - So., OH, Dowling

Player of the Year: Maja Potpara, Jr., RS/S, Dowling
Libero of the Year: Lisa Peacock, Jr., L, NYIT
Rookie of the Year: Shelby Cable, Fr., OH, NYIT
Coaches of the Year: Gail Wasmus, NYIT