ECC Baseball All-Conference Top Honors Awarded to Andreoli, Moscatiello, Lorenzo, and Murphy

ECC Baseball All-Conference Top Honors Awarded to Andreoli, Moscatiello, Lorenzo, and Murphy

Central Islip, N.Y. – Junior outfielder, Rob Andreoli (North Wantagh, N.Y.) of LIU Post, has been selected as the East Coast Conference Baseball Player of the Year in a vote by the league's head coaches.  Also earning All-Conference major awards are St. Thomas Aquinas' Frankie Moscatiello (Rocky Point, N.Y.), who has been named Pitcher of the Year, and Noah Lorenzo (Massapequa Park, N.Y.) of LIU Post and Anthony Murphy (Peekskill, N.Y.) of Mercy, who share the league's Rookie of the Year honor.  

Andreoli, a two-time All-Conference First Team selection, put together an outstanding season for the Pioneers. His name is littered across the conference's offensive leader board. Heading into ECC Championship play, Andreoli ranks third in the league with a .370 batting average and second with 67 hits and 22 stolen bases. Additionally, he is tops in the conference with 15 doubles and 39 runs batted in. He also ranks in the top-10 in the league with four homeruns, 39 runs scored, 94 total bases, a .431 on-base percentage, and a .519 slugging percentage. Andreoli has excelled defensively as well, with a 1.000 fielding percentage in 104 total chances and four assists patrolling the outfield for the Pioneers.

Moscatiello has been lights out on the mound all season for the Spartans. He wrapped up the regular season with a 7-1 record in 13 appearances and nine starts that spanned 66.0 innings. He allowed only 46 hits on the year, good for a stingy .200 batting average against and a 6.27 hits allowed per nine innings mark which ranks 17th in the nation. In addition, Moscatiello compiled a 1.64 earned run average, good for tops in the ECC by nearly a full run and 11th in all of Division II. He also led the ECC with 79 strikeouts on the season. As good as Moscatiello has been all season, he was even better during ECC play. In conference action, he compiled a league leading 5-0 record and a 1.52 ERA.

Lorenzo has been one of the top starters in the ECC in his debut season. The lefty has a 6-1 record in 10 appearances, all starts. The two-time ECC weekly award recipient's win total is tied for fourth in the ECC. Lorenzo is also among the league leaders with 68.1 innings pitched (fourth), two complete games (sixth), and a 3.69 ERA (fifth).

Murphy is the other half of the Rookie of the Year duo after compiling a slash line of .357 (BA)/.439 (OBP)/.558 (SLG) on the year. All three marks rank in the top five in the conference. Murphy drove in 23 runs and smacked eight doubles, three triples, and four homeruns on the season, as well. His triple total was fourth in the ECC and his homerun mark was eighth.

After sharing the honor last season, St. Thomas Aquinas head coach Scott Muscat is the lone winner of this season's Coach of the Year award.  Muscat guided the Spartans to their second straight ECC Regular Season crown with a 37-13 overall record which includes a remarkable 28-4 mark over the team's final 32 regular season games. Muscat has also led the Spartans to a spot in the national rankings, coming in at No. 21 in the latest National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) and No. 26 in the Collegiate Baseball Magazine Division II polls.  

Joining Andreoli and Moscatiello as All-Conference First Team selections are Thomas Asbaty (Sr., C, LIU Post), Angelo Navetta (Jr., 1B, Molloy), Stephen DiNicola (Jr., 2B, Bridgeport), Michael Rahn (R-Sr., 2B, Molloy), Casey McCone (Sr., 3B, Bridgeport), Joseph Pena (Jr., SS, St. Thomas Aquinas), Kenny Daley (Sr., OF, LIU Post), Giovanni Dingcong (Jr., OF, St. Thomas Aquinas), Zach Burger (Gr., DH, Bridgeport), Anthony Shkrelja (Jr., UTL, St. Thomas Aquinas), Joseph Broderick (Sr., SP, Queens), Chris Cepeda (R-So., SP, St. Thomas Aquinas), Jake DeCarli (Sr., SP, LIU Post), and Dan Jagiello (Sr., RP, LIU Post).

Cris Ruiz (So., C, St. Thomas Aquinas), Joseph Sadallah (So., C, Mercy), Mark Shkrelja (Jr., 1B, St. Thomas Aquinas), Dave Egeland (Sr., 1B, Bridgeport), Nicholas Lucchese (Fr., 2B, St. Thomas Aquinas), Jimmy Mendyk (So., 3B, LIU Post), Brian Murphy (Sr., SS, Molloy), Juan Adorno (R-Jr., OF, St. Thomas Aquinas), Michael Morgan (So., OF, St. Thomas Aquinas), Cam Overbaugh (Jr., OF, Bridgeport), Anthony Vaglica (So., DH, LIU Post), Bobby Kelly (R-Sr., SP, Molloy), Dennis Lyman (Sr., SP, Bridgeport), Anthony Morris (Sr., SP, St. Thomas Aquinas), Matt Nalbone (Sr., SP, Mercy), George Navadel (Sr., RP, St. Thomas Aquinas), and Chad Sinko (Sr., RP, St. Thomas Aquinas) join Lorenzo and Murphy as Second Team honorees.

2017 ECC Baseball All-Conference
First Team
C - Thomas Asbaty, LIU Post
1B - Angelo Navetta, Molloy
2B - Stephen DiNicola, UB
2B - Michael Rahn, Molloy
3B - Casey McCone, Bridgeport
SS - Joseph Pena, St. Thomas Aquinas
OF - Rob Andreoli, LIU Post
OF - Kenny Daley, LIU Post
OF - Giovanni Dingcong, St. Thomas Aquinas
DH - Zach Burger, Bridgeport
UTL - Anthony Shkrelja, St. Thomas Aquinas
SP - Joseph Broderick, Queens
SP - Chris Cepeda, St. Thomas Aquinas
SP - Jake DeCarli, LIU Post
SP - Frankie Moscatiello, St. Thomas Aquinas
RP - Dan Jagiello, LIU Post

Second Team
C - Cris Ruiz, St. Thomas Aquinas
C - Joseph Sadallah, Mercy
1B - Dave Egeland, Bridgeport
1B- Mark Shkrelja, St. Thomas Aquinas
2B - Nicholas Lucchese, St. Thomas Aquinas
3B - Jimmy Mendyk, LIU Post
SS - Brian Murphy, Molloy
OF - Juan Adorno, St. Thomas Aquinas
OF - Michael Morgan, St. Thomas Aquinas
OF - Cam Overbaugh, Bridgeport
DH - Anthony Vaglica, LIU Post
UTL - Anthony Murphy, Mercy
SP - Bobby Kelly, Molloy
SP - Noah Lorenzo, LIU Post
SP - Dennis Lyman, Bridgeport
SP - Anthony Morris, St. Thomas Aquinas
SP - Matt Nalbone, Mercy
RP - George Navadel, St. Thomas Aquinas
RP - Chad Sinko, St. Thomas Aquinas  

Player of the Year: Rob Andreoli, Jr. OF, LIU Post
Pitcher of the Year: Frankie Moscatiello, Jr., SP, St. Thomas Aquinas
Co-Rookie of the Year: Anthony Murphy, So., UTL, Mercy
Co-Rookie of the Year: Noah Lorenzo, Fr., SP, LIU Post
Coach of the Year: Scott Muscat, St. Thomas Aquinas

* - There are multiple 2B on the First Team and C, 1B, RP on the Second Team due to ties in the voting. There are also five SP on the Second Team due to ties, as well.