STAC’s Russo Named ABCA All-American; Molloy’s Kelly Named to Gold Glove Team

STAC’s Russo Named ABCA All-American; Molloy’s Kelly Named to Gold Glove Team

Cary, N.C. – The American Baseball Coaches Association/Rawlings All-America and Gold Glove teams were announced on Tuesday evening. ECC Player of the Year, Mike Russo of St. Thomas Aquinas, was named a First Team All-American, while Molloy shortstop Kris Kelly was named to the Gold Glove team.

Russo, a senior catcher from Boca Raton, Fla., led the ECC in homeruns (11) and RBI (62) for the second year in a row, while also hitting .343 on the year. He also helped the Spartans to their first ever ECC Championship and appearance in the NCAA Tournament by ranking in the top five in the ECC in nearly every offensive category with 47 runs, 62 hits, 17 doubles, four triples, 120 total bases, 27 walks, a .425 on-base percentage, and a .663 slugging percentage.

Russo was one of five selections from the East Region. The four others were Casey Cotter (Merrimack), Trevor Graham (Franklin Pierce), Dillon McNamara (Adelphi), and Junior Mendez (Southern New Hampshire), all from Northeast 10 schools.

Kelly, a senior from Shirley, N.Y., was named the top fielding shortstop in Division II with the Gold Glove honor. In 46 games on the year, Kelly made only five errors in 209 chances for a .976 fielding percentage. Kelly also helped turn 20 double plays on the season.

2013 ABCA/Rawlings All-America Team
First Team
1B – Mike Failoni, Lindenwood
2B – Braden Box, Colorado Mesa
3B – Nick Sell, Seton Hill
SS – Michael Schulze, Missouri Western St.
INF – Brian Weust, Nebraska-Kearney
OF – Zach Bricknell, Young Harris
OF – Chandler Brock, Alabama-Huntsville
OF – Zach Esquerra, California Baptist
OF – Michael Lott, Shepherd
C – Mike Russo, St. Thomas Aquinas
DH – Bradon Reitano, Mount Olive
SP – Jason Hoppe, Minnesota St. Mankato
SP – Harvey Martin, Minnesota St. Mankato
SP – Harmen Sidhu, Sonoma State
SP – Glenn Wallace, Sonoma State
RP – Mike Adams, Tampa

Second Team
1B – Chris Dula, Catawba
2B – Adrian English, Barry
3B – Grant Fink, Missouri Western St.
SS – Mike Mercurio, Mount Olive
INF – Cameron Scott, Columbus St.
OF – Casey Cotter, Merrimack
OF – Bubba Dotson, Missouri Western St.
OF – Ryan Lewis, Columbus St.
OF – Kyle Simpson, Missouri Western St.
C – Kyle Sani, Central Washington
DH – Ben Kingsley, Delta St.
SP – Matt Dillon, Mount Olive
SP – Brannon Easterling, St. Edwards
SP – Trevor Graham, Franklin Pierce
SP – Carl O’Neal, St. Mary’s
RP – Dillon McNamara, Adelphi

Third Team
1B – Jason Matusik, Lynn
2B – Allen Staton, North Greenville
3B – Jordan Edgerton, UNC Pembroke
SS – Will Kengor, Slippery Rock
SS – Nate Robertson, Colorado Mesa
INF – Tyler Aldridge, Delta St.
INF – Pat Kregloh, Shippensburg
OF – Michael Danner, Tampa
OF – Luke Esquerra, California Baptist
OF – Lee Neumann, Angelo St.
OF – Nick Thimesch, Drury
C – Kyle Petty, California (Pa.)
C – Nick Tindall, Quincy
DH – Payton Reed, Drury
SP – Junior Mendez, Southern New Hampshire
SP – Chris Murphy, Millersville
SP – Jordan Peterson, St. Joseph (Ind.)
SP – Dallas Ponder, Texas A&M Kingsville
SP – Alex Regan, Mount Olive
RP – Taylor Grover, South Carolina Aiken
RP – Kyle Renaud, Missouri St. Louis

Pitcher of the Year: Harvey Martin, Sr., Minnesota St. Mankato
Player of the Year: Zach Esquerra, Jr., OF, California Baptist

2013 ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Team
1B – Michael Pomeroy, Grand Canyon
2B – Connor Sczerba, Florida Southern
3B – Michael Herman, Wayne St.
SS – Kris Kelly, Molloy
OF – Mike Cleary, Southern Connecticut St.
OF – Ryan Greer, Angelo St.
OF – Jeff Anderson, Texas A&M International
C – Gino Escalante, Mount Olive
SP – Andrew Naderer, Grand Canyon

Defensive Player of the Year: Gino Escalante, Sr., C, Mount Olive