Duran Named NCBWA National Pitcher of the Year

Duran Named NCBWA National Pitcher of the Year

Gabriel Duran has earned his second National Pitcher of the Year honor after the National Collegiate Baseball Writer's Association announced their All-American teams. Duran also earns First Team All-American honors as one of four players to be named an unanimous selections.

This is Duran's second selection as National Pitcher of the Year after earning the same distinction from Daktronics. He now has also been named a First Team All-American by three different organizations (Daktronics, ABCA/Rawlings, NCBWA). 

Duran finished the 2009 season with a record of 10-2 along with 2 saves. His 10 wins on the year established a new program record for wins in a season. In 89.2 innings he registered 83 strikeouts and a 1.30 ERA. He also held opposing batters to a stingy .150 batting average against, while only allowing 13 earned runs on the season. Duran has also threw 6 complete games in 11 starts, including 3 shut outs.

Duran helped pitched the Golden Lions to their first ever appearance in the Division II College World Series in 2009. He came on in relief in the East Region Championship game to earn the save in the clinching 1-0 victory over Adelphi by tossing 2.1 scoreless innings. He also earned Dowling's first ever victory in World Series play by throwing a complete game 3 hitter over then No. 1 nationally ranked UC San Diego.

2009 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Division II All-America Teams

Player of the Year: Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta State
Pitcher of the Year: Gabriel Duran, Dowling
Coach of the Year: Dan O'Brien, UC San Diego

First Team

Pos Name School
C Matt Adams Slippery Rock
1B Jon Alia Cal State Dominguez Hills
2B Kevin Becker Mesa State
SS Matt  Bodenchuk Mesa State (Unanimous)
3B Yan Gomes Barry
OF Shannon Wilkerson Augusta State (Unanimous)
OF Bryan Fogle Erksine
OF Jason Fobes CSU - Pueblo
OF JD Martinez Nova Southeastern
UTL Dustin Huffer Concord
DH Travis Howard USC Aiken
SP Gabriel Duran Dowling (Unanimous)
SP Hayden Simpson Southern Arkansas (Unanimous)
SP Chris Armijo Incarnate Word
SP Dan Wright Lynn
RP Shaun Larsen Southern Indiana
RP Chris Matlock Central Missouri

Second Team

Pos Name School
C Ryan Query Catawba
1B Daniel Kassouf Belmont Abbey
2B Cannon Lester Southern Arkansas
SS Rich Racobaldo Mount Olive
3B Nate Arevalo Cameron
OF Matt Cotellese West Chester
OF Adam Darby Harding
OF Brandon Decker Valdosta State
OF Eric Workman West Virginia State
UTL Chris Adamson Angelo State
DH Matt Costello Valdosta State
SP Nick Fogelman Pfeiffer
SP Blake Keitzman Western Oregon
SP Gary Moran Sonoma State
SP Ben Watkins Pitt - Johnstown
RP Brad Rutherford Abilene Christian
RP Matt Winterhalter Northern Kentucky

Third Team

Pos Name School
C Jordan Schmidt Abilene Christian
1B Evan McDole Northern Kentucky
2B Drew Cross St. Edward's
SS Evan Porter Nebraska - Omaha
3B Craig Lyerly Catawba
OF Conner Crumbliss Emporia State
OF Sam DiMatteo California (PA)
OF Will Gowdy Ouachita Baptist
OF Joe Wedntke Wayne State
UTL Andrew Whittington Southern Arkansas
DH Keith Towne Angelo State
SP Michael Fiers Nova Southeastern
SP Darin Gorsky Kutztown
SP Michael Thompson Bellarmine
SP Kyle Vazquez Franklin PIerce
RP John Church West Florida
RP Justin Moore Dominican

Honorable Mention

Catcher Chase Blackwood, Valdosta State; Chris Herbert, Concordia St. Paul
First Baseman Logan Forest, Texas - Permian Basis; Yudelmis Hernandez, Barry; Andrew Kinney, Southwest Minnesota State; Zach Solly, Fairmont State
Second Baseman Chas Anthony, Erksine; Mike Baillargeon, Assumption; Carlos Leyva, Cal State Dominguez Hills
Shortstop Vance Albitz, UC San Diego; Shane Busti, California (PA); Devin Goodwin, Delta State
Third Baseman David Olson, Minnesota - Duluth; Jacob Petkac, Ashland; Ethan Santora, Mercyhurst; Josh Tanner, UC San Diego
Outfield Adam Arakawa, Chico State; Thomas Bumpass, Abilene Christian; Bo Darby, West Virginia State; Kevin Dietrich, UNC Pembroke; Kevin Dusold, Northern Kentucky; Jeff Foltz, Ashland; Cody Holliday, Wilmington; Mark Lecthworth, Wingate; JT Putt, Regis; Mario Ramirez, Cal State LA; Chance Tuttle, Central Missouri; Derek West, Southwest Minnesota State
Utility Player Tyler Choate, Southern Indiana; Paul - Michael Klingberg, Cal State Dominguez Hills; Alex Koch, Wayne State; Phil Messerian, Nyack
Designated Hitter Jason Carr, New Mexico Highlands; Josh Meagher, Chico State; Ben Sondgeroth, Indianapolis
Starting Pitcher Andre Benjamin, Grand Valley State; Brad Bichel, Cameron; Logan Birr, St. Cloud State; Tom Cote, Franklin Pierce; Reece Dodd, Southeastern Oklahoma; Adam Maini, Kutztown; Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke; Ajay Meyer, Ashland; Bret Moyer, West Chester; Max Russell, Florida Southern; Jake Schmidt, Concordia - St. Paul; Tim Shibuya, UC San Diego; Cody Walden, Armstrong Atlantic; Cory White, Indianapolis
Relief Pitcher Rob Currie, Tusculum; Martin DeWald, GCSU; Nathan Kafka, Minnesota State; Guido Knudson, UC San Diego; Rob Nicholas, Franklin Pierce; Kenny Reisinger, Shepherd

-Provided by Dowling Sports Information department.