Gabriel Duran (Brooklyn, NY) was named to the Rawlings/American Baseball Coaches Association 2009 Division II All-American First Team announced on Tuesday afternoon. This is Duran's second First Team All-American honor, after also being named to Daktronics All-American First Team as well as National Pitcher of the Year.

Duran has had an amazing season since his first start in 2009, during which he threw a no-hitter with 14 strikeouts in a victory over Felician College. Since then, he has gone on to set a Dowling single season record 10 wins, with the record setting victory coming in the Division II College World Series against the No. 1 nationally ranked UC San Diego. Throughout the season Duran was among the national leaders in earned run average, leading the nation for most of the season.

Duran, whose final stat line may not be set in stone with the Golden Lions still alive at the World Series, currently has a record of 10-2 along with 2 saves. In 89.2 innings he has 83 strikeouts and a 1.30 ERA. He has also held opposing batters to a stingy .150 batting average against to only allow 13 earned runs on the season. Duran has also thrown 6 complete games in 11 starts, including 3 shut outs.

He is one of four players from the East Region to earn All-American honors, being joined by Mike Baillargeone (Assumption), Kyle Vazquez (Franklin Pierce), and Justin Moore (Dominican). However, Duran is the only player from the East Region to earn First Team honors.

With the recognition, Duran wraps up the most successful season by a pitcher in Dowling history by earning East Coast Conference All-Conference First Team, East Coast Conference Pitcher of the Year, Daktronics All-Region First Team, Daktronics East Region Pitcher of the Year, Daktronics All-American First Team, Daktronics National Pitcher of the Year, and Rawlings/ABCA All-American First Team honors.

2009 Division II Rawlings/American Baseball Coaches Association All-American Teams

Position Player of the Year: Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta, JR
Pitcher of the Year: Chris Matlock, Central Missouri, SR
Player of the Year: Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta, JR
Coach of the Year: Coach of National Champions

First Team

Pos Name School Year
1B Jon Alia CSU Dominguez Hills Sr
2B Cannon Lester Southern Arkansas Jr
3B Yan Gomes Barry Jr
SS Evan Porter Nebraska - Omaha Sr
IF Matt Bodenchuk Mesa State Sr
OF Matt Cotellese West Chester Sr
OF Brandon Decker Valdosta State Jr
OF Shannon Wilkerson Augusta Jr
OF Joe Wendte Wayne State Jr
C Jordan Schmitt Abilene Christian Sr
DH Travis Howard USC Aiken Jr
SP Gabriel Duran Dowling So
SP Blake Keitzman Western Oregon Jr
SP Hayden Simpson Southern Arkansas So
SP Dan Wright Lynn Jr
RP Chris Matlock Central Missouri Sr

Second Team

Pos Name School Year
1B Daniel Kassouf Belmont Abbey So
2B Mike Baillargeon Assumption Sr
3B Nate Arevalo Cameron Sr
SS Vance Albitz UC San Diego Jr
IF Eric Bond Wayne State Jr
OF Connor Crumbliss Emporia State Sr
OF Adam Darby Harding Sr
OF Sam DiMatteo California Jr
OF Bryan Fogle Erksine Jr
C Matt Adams Slippery Rock Jr
DH Matt Costello Valdosta State Jr
SP Darin Gorski Kutztown Jr
SP Michael Thompson Bellarmine Sr
SP Matt McGovern UNC Pembroke Jr
SP Gary Moran Sonoma State Sr
RP Brad Rutherford Abilene Christian Jr

Third Team

Pos Name School Year
1B Rob Dahlberg U of West Alabama Sr
1B Evan McDole Northern Kentucky Jr
2B Kyle Gendron Grand Valley State Jr
3B Craig Lyverly Catawba Jr
3B Jacob Petkac Ashland Jr
SS Rich Racobaldo Mount Olive Sr
IF Mark Angelo East Stroudsburg Sr
IF Ben Sondgeroth Indianapolis Sr
OF Kevin Dietrich UNC Pembroke Sr
OF Jason Fobes CSU - Pueblo Sr
OF Mark Letchworth Wingate Sr
OF J.D. Martinez Nova Southeastern Jr
OF Chance Tuttle Central Missouri Sr
C Ryan Query Catawba Sr
DH Keith Towne Angelo State Jr
SP Chris Armijo Incarnate Word Sr
SP Michael Fiers Nova Southeastern Sr
SP Jack Schmidt Concordia - St. Paul Sr
SP Kyle Vazquez Franklin Pierce Jr
RP Shaun Larsen Southern Indiana Sr
RP Justin Moore Dominican Fr

-Provided by Dowling Sports Information department.