ECC Announces Inaugural Hall of Fame Class

ECC Announces Inaugural Hall of Fame Class

Central Islip, N.Y. - The East Coast Conference is pleased to announce the inaugural inductees of the conference's Hall of Fame. Among the six-member class are three student-athletes, one coach, and two administrators.

The student-athlete honorees are Dowling College's Morten Jensen, The College of Saint Rose's Kristiana Kandere, and LIU Post's David Kelly. NYIT's Clyde Doughty and LIU Post's Vincent Salamone, both former Athletic Directors, are the administrator inductees. Former NYIT men's lacrosse head coach, Jack Kaley, is the final honoree.

The inductees were selected in a vote by a 12-person Hall of Fame committee comprised of ECC administrators, coaches, sports information directors, faculty athletic representatives, and the ECC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) President. The six selections will be honored at the ECC's annual awards banquet on Monday, May 22 at the University of Bridgeport.

Morten Jensen, Dowling College (Men's Soccer; 2003-2006)
Jensen was a four-year standout for the Dowling men's soccer team, helping the Golden Lions to three Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 2006. A two-time conference Player of the Year and three-time All-Conference First Team selection, Jensen is first in ECC history and 18th all-time in Division II with 72 goals scored. Also a two-time All-American, the Tananger, Norway native saved his best for last. In his senior season, Jensen earned the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) National Player of the Year honor and was also named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Tournament after scoring the clincher in a 1-0 victory over Fort Lewis in the National Championship Game with just seven minutes left on the clock. Additionally, Jensen excelled in the classroom, twice earning CoSIDA Academic All-America and ECC Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.

Kristiana Kandere, The College of Saint Rose (Women's Basketball; 1994-1998)
Kandere is one of the most decorated women's basketball student-athletes in conference history. Kandere led the Golden Knights to four straight New York Collegiate Athletic Conference (NYCAC - name of the conference before rebranding to ECC) Championships and a record of 114-12 (.905 winning percentage). Her name is littered throughout the conference's record book as she currently ranks fifth in points (1,975), sixth in blocks (212), and third in field goals made (788). She also is the conference's all-time leader with 1,333 rebounds and holds the league's single-season record of 412 rebounds. Kandere, who compiled career averages of 15.7 points per game and 10.6 rebounds per game, was a three-time All-American with two First Team selections. She also earned the Division II Bulletin National Player of the Year honor after the 1997-98 season. She earned numerous honors in the conference in addition, with four straight All-Conference First Team nods, a Rookie of the Year selection in her debut season, and three straight NYCAC Player of the Year awards to wrap up here career. Kandere was just as much of a standout in the classroom, earning the CoSIDA National Academic All-America Player of the Year honor in her senior season in addition to two CoSIDA Academic All-America selections.

David Kelly, LIU Post (Men's Lacrosse; 1997-2000)
Kelly was a four-year defensive standout for the Pioneers men's lacrosse team from 1997 through 2000. In his final three seasons he helped lead C.W. Post (now LIU Post)  to the National Championship game and earned numerous honors along the way. All four years of his career, Kelly was a NYCAC All-Conference First Team and earned the conference's Rookie of the Year honor in 1997 and Player of the Year from 1998 through 2000. He was also a United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) All-America First Team selection four straight seasons and a three-time recipient of the Division II Will C. Schmeisser Award, given annually to the country's top-defensive player. In addition, in 1999 and 2000 he was selected as the Lt. Raymond J. Enners Division II National Player of the Year Award winner.

Clyde Doughty, NYIT (Athletic Director; 1984-2014)
Doughty was a mainstay at New York Institute of Technology from when he first stepped on campus in 1976 as a basketball student-athlete until he departed in 2014 after four years as Assistant AD and 26 years as the school's Athletic Director. He was active in many leadership roles within the conference, serving as the men's basketball sport chair, SAAC Liaison, and as the NYCAC President from 1994 through 1997. He also served on numerous NCAA committees including two terms with the Division II Management Council where as a member of the council he contributed to numerous committees and task groups, including the Division II Budget and Finance Committee, the Division II National Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and the Graduation Rates Project Team. Doughty was also instrumental in numerous initiatives on the NYIT campus including developing and implementing the NYIT Bears Den Fund Raising Association, the Bears Athletic Hall of Fame, the BEARS Mentor Educational Program, and the Night Out on the Bears Program.

Vincent Salamone, LIU Post (Athletic Director; 1986-2006)
Salamone served the athletic department at C.W. Post for over 40 years. As a student-athlete at Post, he played football, baseball and lacrosse. After graduating in 1964, he stayed in Brookville as a coach and athletic trainer until being elevated to the role of Athletic Director in 1986. In his role as AD, Salamone was instrumental in the creation of the NYCAC as one of the co-founders in 1988 and held the position of Treasurer at the conference from its inception until he left the role of AD in 2006. Among his other accomplishments were serving as the president of the Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference (ECAC),chair of the NCAA DII Lacrosse Committee, the implementation of the Post women's lacrosse, soccer, and swimming programs, planning the construction of the Pratt Recreation Center, and upgrading other athletic facilities at C.W. Post. Salamone was also the recipient of the ECC's Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Jack Kaley, NYIT (Men's Lacrosse Head Coach; 1993-2009)
Kaley earns his Hall of Fame selection after one of the most successful coaching careers in Division II men's lacrosse history. Kaley retired after the 2009 season with a record of 185-33, good for a winning percentage of .849. He was Division II's all-time leader in wins at the time of his retirment and nearly a decade later, still ranks second all-time in victories. His winning percentage currently ranks second, as well. During his tenure at NYIT, he led the Bears to five conference championships, eight NCAA Tournaments, and six National Championship Game appearances. His squads won the National Championship in 1997, 2003, 2005, and 2008. His team's success led to numerous honors. He was a three-time conference Coach of the Year (02, 04, 07), a two-time Field Turf Division II Coach of the Year (05, 08), and a four-time USILA Division II Coach of the Year (96, 96, 02, 08). Kaley was also named the USILA "Howdy Myers" Man of the Year in 2007. With his induction, Kaley is now a member of five different Hall of Fames which include the Long Island Metro Lacrosse, Sewanhaka High School, NYIT, and USILA Hall of Fames.