ECC Hosts Seventh Annual Awards Dinner

ECC Hosts Seventh Annual Awards Dinner

Bridgeport, Conn. - Over 100 administrators, coaches, student-athletes and guests from East Coast Conference member institutions traveled to the John J. Cox Student Center on the campus of the University of Bridgeport on May 23 for the East Coast Conference Awards Dinner.

The event highlighted team and student-athlete accomplishments including recognizing the Players, Coaches and Scholar-Athletes of the Year from all 18 ECC sponsored sports. In addition, the conference honored student-athletes, teams, and member institutions with special awards while also handing out the 2015-16 Commissioner’s Cup.

The St. Thomas Aquinas College baseball team and Daemen College athletic department shared the ECC Community Engagement Award of Excellence. Daemen was honored for their involvement with Team Impact and St. Thomas Aquinas for their work with Rockland County's Touching Bases. (read more)

Dowling  received the ECC Cares Award for leading the conference in monies raised for collective causes.  The Golden Lions raised just over $14,000. (read more)

St. Thomas Aquinas College was presented with the ECC Community Cup for the seventh consecutive year after averaging over 22.5 hours of community service and community engagement per student-athlete, the highest among the 11 institutions. (read more)

Leslie Busch, former Associate Commissioner of the ECC, was honored with an Outstanding Service Award for her work in helping the ECC become the first conference to be able to host a wish reveal due to funds raised for Make-A-Wish.

The Roberts Wesleyan athletic department and men's basketball team members were awarded the ECC Sportsmanship Award. They were honored for how they handled a challenging racial discrimination event on their campus. (read more)

LIU Post won the Commissioner’s Cup for the fourth straight year. The Pioneers made the ECC Championship tournaments in 14 of the 16 sports they sponsor, won three conference tournament championships, and two regular season championships to claim the award. (read more)

Roberts Wesleyan was awarded the ECC Academic Success Rate award for the second straight year. The Redhawks earned the honor after posting a 90 percent graduation success rate in the NCAA Academic Tracking System.

Senior Per Forgaard(Ronkonkoma, N.Y.) of the LIU Post men's soccer team was named the 2016 Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  Forgaard, boasts a graduate grade point average (GPA) of 3.83 after compiling an undergraduate GPA of 3.7 as an International Business major.  He was also a the ECC Offensive Player of the Year, an NSCAA All-America selection, and earned a spot on the CoSIDA Academic All-America Team. (read more)

Senior Dina Ragab (Cairo, Egypt) of the NYIT women's basketball team was tabbed the 2016 Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year.  Ragab maintained a 3.82 gpa as a Business Administration major. She also was named the ECC Player of the Year, earned WBCA All-America Honorable Mention status, and grabbed a spot on the CoSIDA Academic All-America Team. (read more)

Three student-athletes received the John Smillie, Jr. Award for overcoming personal and physical challenges to continue to play the sport that they love.  Seniors Elisabeth Gully (Rego Park, N.Y.) of the Queens women's basketball team, Bobby Kelly (Mineola, N.Y.) of the Molloy baseball team, and Jon Lynott (Massapequa, N.Y.) of the NYIT men's lacrosse team were recognized for their courage, dedication and inspiring stories. (read more)

The most prestigious award of the evening, dubbed the Excellence in Community and Character Award (E.C.C. Award), was presented to three student-athletes this year.  The E.C.C. Award recognizes student-athletes who have distinguished themselves through positive actions and behaviors that are consistent with the NCAA Division II attributes of learning, service, passion, sportsmanship, balance and resourcefulness.  This year’s recipients were Peter Vath (Selden, N.Y., baseball, Molloy) and Marlena Wright (Bronx, N.Y., women's cross country/track & field, Dist. Columbia). (read more)